text size:

What's New


  Officers Recognized

Nov 19, 2008 11:52 ET

Two DRP officers were honoured as our Police Association hosted the 2008 Retirement Dinner and Lion’s Club Police Officer of the Year and Terry Ryan Awards Presentation at the General Sikorski’s Hall recently.

The Police Officer of the Year was awarded to Detective Larry Nobbs for his work with 18 Division (Whitby) Criminal Investigation Branch and for his unwavering support at police memorials. Det. Nobbs leads by example, motivates his peers and encourages his fellow officers. His professionalism and respect for both the police service and the community are the reasons he was chosen for this award.

Constable Wil White, stationed at 19 Division (Ajax/Pickering), was also honoured at the dinner. Cst. White received the Terry Ryan Memorial Scholarship Rookie of the Year. His dedication to youth in the community made him a standout in the committee’s eyes.

The DRP wants to congratulate both recipients on their awards. Way to go!

Below are attached files.
Officer thumb (JPG file, 44.7K bytes)
Detective Nobbs receives the award from Whitby Lions Club President Andy Elliott (JPG file, 456.4K bytes)
Cst. White accepts his Rookie of the Year award (JPG file, 371.2K bytes)