text size:

What's New


  A Graduation to Remember!

Jan 08, 2009 07:30 ET

Ten new DRPS Officers took their oaths of office Wednesday night at their graduation ceremony.

Chief Mike Ewles, Board Chair Terry Clayton and DRPA President Doug Cavanaugh welcomed them to the police service and congratulated them on their achievement.

Of the new officers, four are assigned to 19 Division, Ajax-Pickering; two are assigned to 17 Division, Oshawa; two are assigned to 15 Division, North Durham and one each is assigned to 18 Division, Whitby and 16 Division, Clarington.

Also joining in the ceremony last night were new recruits for police services in Peterborough and Cobourg. Peterborough-Lakefield Police Chief Murray Rodd and Cobourg Police Chief Paul Sweet welcomed their new additions at the ceremony, which took place in the new recreational facility at Durham College/U.O.I.T. in Oshawa.

The winner of the Allan Christiansen Memorial Award for outstanding leadership, attitude and fitness was PC Charlyn Craik, who will begin her new career in 19 Division.

Below are attached files.
Thumb (JPG file, 47.5K bytes)
Christiansen Award Presentation (JPG file, 228.1K bytes)
Group Shot of New Police Officers (JPG file, 175.4K bytes)
Marching In (JPG file, 189.3K bytes)