text size:

What's New


  New Recruits Join the Ranks of DRPS

Jan 22, 2010 14:25 ET

A dozen new members have joined the Durham Regional Police Service. The new recruits were sworn in at a ceremony in Oshawa on Jan. 21 along with fellow officers from the Peterborough Lakefield Police Service.

The recruits took their oath of office in front of Her Worship Justice of the Peace Martha DeGannes, Chief Mike Ewles, D/Chiefs Scott Burns and Sherry Whiteway, Peterborough Lakefield Chief Murray Rodd, DRPSB Vice Chair Bruce Boyle, DRPA President Mike Glennie, DRPA Vice President Gary Foxwell, Reverend Bill Tadeja and their families and friends. The Durham Regional Police Honour Guard, Pipes and Drums and Choir were also part of the ceremony.

The group successfully completed a 13-week training program at the Ontario Police College (OPC) and an eight-week in-service program at the DRP's Police Learning Centre. Constable Ben Payne spoke on behalf of the graduating class about their learning experiences. The officers will join platoons across Durham Region and receive on-the-job training from coach officers for the next three months.

Cst. Grant Bowler was awarded the Allan Christiansen Memorial Award. On Oct. 28, 1999, Allan Christiansen was tragically killed in a motor vehicle collision while returning home from graduation ceremonies at the completion of his basic constable course at the Ontario Police College.

The Allan Christiansen Memorial Award was initiated by Allan’s class in remembrance of this outstanding individual and is presented to one member of each graduating class who exemplifies the qualities demonstrated by Allan, as chosen by his peers. These qualities include: maintaining a positive attitude, demonstrating exceptional leadership abilities, volunteering to help others, sustaining a high level of personal fitness and fostering camaraderie among peers.

Congratulations to Cst. Bowler on this prestigious recognition.

Good luck to the new recruits as they begin their careers at DRPS.

Below are attached files.
new recruit thumb (JPG file, 31.9K bytes)
Cst. Phil Groeneveld is welcomed to the Service (JPG file, 1,022.3K bytes)
The graduating class (JPG file, 1,915.4K bytes)
Cst. Grant Bowler received the Allan Christiansen Memorial Award (JPG file, 592.5K bytes)
The new recruits (JPG file, 1,103.6K bytes)