text size:

What's New


  A Hero On Our Roads

Jun 09, 2010 08:49 ET

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Durham hosted its 10th Annual Awards Night in Whitby on Tuesday, June 8, honouring police officers, volunteers, the media and community heroes. MADD Durham works to stop impaired driving in our region and to support the victims of this violent crime.

Cst. Jeff Bastien was named Officer of the Year for his passion for making Durham’s roadways safer by reducing impaired driving.

This officer has volunteered for the Festive RIDE team for the last three years and taken on an unofficial leadership role on Festive RIDE by mentoring newer officers. Being a member of this team isn’t easy – it means giving up family time at a special time of year to work straight nights and weekends.

But his commitment to reducing impaired driving doesn’t stop there. Cst. Bastien was the first DRP officer to become a Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) Officer. These credentials do not come easily – he attended a high-intensity course then travelled to Phoenix, Arizona for the week-long practical assignment held in a jail.

Cst. Bastien champions the DRE program inside and outside Durham Region. He is responsible for educating members of DRP, the Crown Attorney’s office and students at the Police Learning Centre about DRE. His lecturing skills have been requested by several police organizations across Canada.

This year, MADD Durham handed out two Officer of the Year awards, also honouring Cst. Dominic Wong of the Ontario Provincial Police’s Whitby detachment for his commitment to reducing impaired driving.

Deputy Chief Sherry Whiteway says roadway safety is one of DRP’s top priorities, and credits organizations like MADD for helping making our roads safer for everyone.

“Impaired driving is not a crime of chance and there are no excuses,” she says.

Congratulations to Cst. Bastien and all the nominees.

Below are attached files.
thumb (JPG file, 43.0K bytes)
RIDE team members Csts. Jeff Bastien, Harry Wirtz and Amy Jackson pose with Deputy Whiteway (JPG file, 340.2K bytes)
RIDE team members Csts. Jeff Bastien, Julie Liard, Amy Jackson and Harry Wirtz (JPG file, 378.8K bytes)
Officer of the Year Winners Cst. Jeff Bastien and Cst. Dominick Wong from the OPP (JPG file, 485.4K bytes)