text size:

What's New


  DRPS Members Honoured at Survivor Day 2011

Jun 15, 2011 09:37 ET

Durham Regional Police 911 call-takers and officers were honoured June 14 for their part in saving the lives of heart attack victims at the 9th Annual Cardiac Safe Community Program’s "Survivor Day."

The event was held at Deer Creek Golf and Banquet Facility in Ajax, where over 43 cardiac arrest survivors were recognized. Organized by the Central East Prehospital Care Program at Lakeridge Health, the awards were presented to police, fire, and ambulance (EMS) personnel in the region who helped save the lives of victims of cardiac arrest during the past year. Many survivors were at the ceremony to personally thank those involved in their rescue.

The program began in 2002 with public access defibrillator machines installed in local public spaces, including arenas, municipal buildings and recreation centres. Since then there has been a 54 per cent survival rate when public defibrillators are used. Currently there are 133 sites across Durham Region outfitted with public access defibrillators.

Program officials say when it comes to cardiac arrest, early intervention is key to survival.

Members of DRPS recognized at the event include: Communicators, Jennifer Albon, Laurie Arnott, Samantha Bedford, Annamae Bleakley, Megan Broome, Valerie Burns, Janice Byrne, Janis Carvalho, Lisamarie Ferreira, Kimberly Gibbons, Krystie Graham, Tami Hartford, Gayle Hetherington, Michael Hyde, David Hyde, Michelle Judson, Christina Kyc, Cindy Lang, Karelyn LeClair, Tamra Lessard, Stacie Lockwood, Kate Mintz, Adam Moore, Shawn Muir, Shelly Payne, Janice Pettit, Shirley Powell, Elizabeth Powers, Vicky Reid, Stacey Spriggs, Brigid Stewart, Gordon Taschuk, Tracy Tebo, Tracy Tebo, Tracey Thompson, Megan Tilley, James Timmins, Peter Tomlin, Robyn White and Amy Wilson Ross. Constables Adam Handscomb, Ryan Huxter, Ryan Jeffs, Nicole Kaiserling, Shaun Kent, Kyle Lloyd, Paul Manning, Sheldon Micallef, Robert Mooers, Kevin Park, Derek Parker, Lee Patterson, Robert Raposo, Dan Riley, Dean Sali, Andrew Scott, Francis Shahshahani, Andrew Siebert, Bill Towler, Corey Walsh, Michael Wesseling, Christopher Winn and Tony Zeppieri, D/Cst. Deanna Hollister, Sergeants Ron Kapuscinski, Thomas Irving, Michael McArthur, Dave Mounsteven, Robert Redford and Denise Wilson, Inspector Mario Lessard and RN Ruth Lawrence.

Congratulations to everyone for their work in helping victims of cardiac arrest.

Below are attached files.
thumb (JPG file, 28.1K bytes)
Deputy Whiteway congratulates DRP Communicator Krystie Graham  (JPG file, 92.5K bytes)
Inspector Joe Maiorano congtratulates Communicator Janice Pettit (JPG file, 73.4K bytes)