text size:

What's New


  Auxiliary Members Recognized For Excellent Service

Oct 21, 2014 11:19 ET

Members of the DRPS Auxiliary Unit were recently recognized for their hard work and commitment at a dinner held at Deer Creek Banquet Facility in Ajax.

Aux/Cst. Debbie Bishop-Chambers was named Auxiliary Officer of the Year and presented with the award by Chief Constable Paul Martin and Auxiliary Inspector Louise Elborn. Debbie was chosen for her ongoing dedication to the unit. The award was created in memory of Sharon Boudrey, a founding Auxiliary member who had passed away.

Chief Martin was joined by fellow DRP members Supt. Greg Mills, Insp. Charlie Green, DRPA President Randy Henning, Regional Chair and Police Services Board Chair Roger Anderson, members of the DPRS and Police Services Board in congratulating the unit. Chief Martin commended the Auxiliary Unit and thanked the 83 members who dedicated more than 21,000 volunteer hours in 2013 to assisting the community and the police service.

Retiring Aux/Sgt. Bob Buller, the last original member of the Auxiliary Unit, received a plaque and a huge thank you for serving since 1977. Members also bid farewell to Auxiliary Inspector Louise Elborn who will be stepping down in January after 25 years.

The Auxiliary Unit plays a huge role here at DRPS and the unwavering support of its members is truly amazing. Thank you to everyone and congratulations.

Below are attached files.
Auxiliary Officer of the Year (JPG file, 1,622.1K bytes)