text size:

What's New


  DRP Recognizes Local Heroes

May 25, 2005 12:34 ET

Citizens of Durham Region were recognized May 25 for their quick action and assistance to police at the Durham Regional Police Service's annual Citizen Awards.

Durham Regional Police Services Board Chair Doug Moffatt, Chief of Police Kevin McAlpine, and local mayors, presented awards to 13 citizens who chose to take action to assist others, putting their own safety at risk. The recipients are from various municipalities in Durham. The ceremony was held in the Council Chamber at Regional Headquarters in Whitby.

Among the recipients was seven-year-old Kailyn Bruce, who ran to a neighbour’s house for help after her grandmother fell and broke her hip. If it wasn’t for Kailyn’s quick actions, her grandmother may have been in pain and helpless for a long period of time before receiving the treatment she required.

Another recipient, Richard Powell of Oshawa, was recognized for his intervention in a fight involving three females assaulting another female at his school. Richard stepped between the suspects and the victim, being hit himself, and did not move until the suspects left the victim alone. Police were called and the suspects were charged with assault. Mr. Powell risked his own safety to assist a fellow student and was honoured for his bravery.

“We’re proud to live in a society with citizens who put themselves at risk to ensure the well-being of their communities,” says Chief McAlpine. “Our region is one of the safest places in the GTA because we have citizens who get involved. The police service operates everyday with the assistance and support of concerned citizens like those being honoured here today.”

Also during the ceremony, Regional Chair Roger Anderson thanked Chief McAlpine for a job well done during his tenure with the Durham Regional Police Service. Chief McAlpine reciprocated, thanking Regional Council for their support throughout his years as chief.

Each year, Durham Regional Police members nominate citizens from the community for their assistance. Congratulations to all recipients!

Below are attached files.
Kailyn and Chief (JPG file, 44.5K bytes)
Chair Roger Anderson, Annette Bruce, Kailyn Bruce, and Chief McAlpine (JPG file, 115.1K bytes)
Mrs. Sandy Betz receives her award (JPG file, 85.7K bytes)