text size:

What's New


  Members Honoured By Community

Oct 22, 2005 09:02 ET

Ten members of the Durham Regional Police were singled out Oct. 20th for their heroism, quick thinking and bravery at the prestigious 3rd Annual Police Appreciation Night.

Organizing co-chairs Moe Pringle and Blair McArthur thanked every member of the police service, calling it "one of the finest municipal police services in Ontario."

Retired Police Chief Kevin McAlpine received a lifetime achievement award from the Police Appreciation Dinner and Awards Night Committee. This award will now bear the retired Chief's name and will be presented annually to a retiring DRPS member who has shown dedication, commitment, fairness and ethical behaviour throughout his or her career.

This year, awards were presented to:

* Sgt. Pat Davidson, PC Dave Redwood and PC Glen Turpin for their heroic efforts during the Nov. 9th 2004 propane tank explosion near Bowmanville.

* PC Darryl Rice for raising over $100,000 for the families of slain RCMP Officers through the sale of True Blue Heroes wristbands.

* PC Todd Gribbons for saving a suicidal 16-year-old female from jumping off a bridge onto railway tracks in Whitby.

* PC Ryan Huxter for a physical arrest of a suspect who tried to run him over in his vehicle.

* PC Leon Presner for stopping a car and solving a home invasion. The suspects in the vehicle had two handguns and cocaine in the vehicle.

* Communicator Samantha Cutajar, PC Catherine Cornes and PC Rui Ferreira for teamwork that saved a woman from a brutal attack by her common-law husband.

One of the highlights of the night was a speech from 10-year-old Vanessa Foran, our Police Chief for a Day, as well as a table full of war veterans in this the Year of the Veteran. Both received standing ovations.

Below are attached files.
Thumbnail (JPG file, 57.4K bytes)
PC Rice and Deputy Chief Piukkala (JPG file, 172.8K bytes)
PC Gribbons (JPG file, 203.1K bytes)
PC Presner (JPG file, 206.2K bytes)
Cutajar, Cornes and Ferreira (JPG file, 217.3K bytes)
PC Huxter (JPG file, 192.2K bytes)
PC Turpin , PC Redwood and Sgt. Davidson (JPG file, 201.1K bytes)
Moe Pringle, Faye and Kevin McAlpine and Blair McArthur (JPG file, 152.4K bytes)
MC Ken Shaw (JPG file, 152.9K bytes)